Just got a new Lenovo ThinkPad T61 – T61p, actually.  It’s awesome.  However, it came preloaded with a bunch of stuff I didn’t want, so I decided to format and start from scratch.  That’s always and adventure.

All went well, until I tried to install the Audio Driver.  I kept getting an error that read: “SoundMax – the HDA audio Bus driver is required and not found.”

Turns out the solution for this is a Microsoft patch, KB888111.   The thing is, that the patch is not available from the Microsoft site.

Apparently, I’m not the only one who has had this problem – as The Google will attest.  And thankfully the solution was right in front of me the entire time.  The KB 888111 patch is avaiable from Lenovo right on the T61 driver page, it’s just labelled Q888111.  Here’s the direct link: http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=MIGR-68974 .  Install the patch, and then the audio driver, and you’ll be in business.

Edit: Dec 2014 – Looks like link to Q888111 has moved: http://support.lenovo.com/ca/en/downloads/ds001699

